Christmas 2011

So things were getting good, I’d got the puppy, I was allowed to cat sit regularly and I didn’t have to bother going on millions of dates anymore. I introduced Mr Convenient to my friends during a BBQ, the kids ran around for a whole 10 minutes before being put to bed so there was no awkwardness there and then I met his work colleagues just before Christmas, every year their boss takes them to The George in Stamford. Small tip, the George is amazing; you absolutely must go but make sure someone else is paying. We also ended up spending Christmas and New Year together; I should point out though we had only been together 9 weeks at this point. Christmas and New Year was in no way a declaration of our undying love for each other. It was the kids Dads turn to have them for Christmas and my Mum was at her sisters with no room for me, His Mum had married someone from Thailand or something or other and went over to visit him every holiday (she was a teacher) until he got his Visa to move over to the UK – so we were both rather pathetic and alone for both, we decided to be pathetic and alone together.

New Years Eve was certainly awkward, 2 of his mates come over who were absolutely lovely, really nice people and actually I still have them on my Facebook friends although I doubt I’ll ever see them again. The next day we had the hangover from hell, I also had 2 kids wide awake screaming for attention and super excited because someone new was there to talk to, oh and a puppy – also super excited. We all went for a walk, we walked and walked and in the end probably did a good 5 miles. Kids were still wide awake screaming for attention, the puppy was still super excited and not only were we all sick from the hangover but a little sick of each other. We got back, had some food and agreed they should all be sober enough to drive home. The week after was miserable, both Mr Convenient and I had stayed together over Christmas so we weren’t alone but neither of us wanted a New Year with someone only with us because it was convenient, he also announced he wasn’t ready to be a Dad, best line to dump someone with ever. It’s not you, its me, I’m not ready to be a Dad…to your kids, who I’ve seen twice, and I knew about before I met you, and who have a Dad and don’t need a Dad replacement! We went our separate ways; I really missed Desmond the cat though.

Leave a comment